August 8, 2010

Satisfying Feelings

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:42 PM by Margaret

Today is Sunday, August 8th. It rained this morning and the sun is now shining beautifully. And I sit here writing because I am feeling so good that I just HAVE to share.

This afternoon I visited the mall with my mom, buying two new t-shirts, two books for a trip that’s coming up, and then went to Starbucks with here, where we talked for a little bit but eventually settled into a comfortable silence with our books. So why do I feel so good? To be quite honest, I don’t know- maybe it’s because my new shirts make me feel beautiful; maybe it’s because I am that satisfying, wholesome feeling that comes when you read a good book. But I think beneath it all is the fact that I had fun today just being me. You see, all through my senior year at my elementary school, I often ended up pretending to be someone I wasn’t. Today, I was myself. I got some quality time with my mom, and though I didn’t get much, I was happy. So my lesson to you today- be content and find happiness with the little things in your life. You won’t die if you don’t get to go on a major shopping spree before school starts- hey, that t-shirt you bought last weeks looks great with pretty much everything! So next time your down with a case of I- want- this- and- that- but -can’t- have- it blues, settle into that comfy casual outfit that makes you feel like a million bucks, even if it is so last season. Grab the latest must-read book (for me it’s Dear John by Nicholas Sparks), make yourself a cup of tea, and settle in for an afternoon of just being content with what you have.

I’m sorry; I know that this post doesn’t make much sense. But I’m just so elated right now that I probably don’t make much sense to anyone. 🙂

Hoping this finds you all having an absolutely marvelous summer vacation,

Margaret

2 Comments »

  1. Iryna said,

    *tears gathering in eyes* (Literally, actually, because I just had some jalapeno-flavoured chips. Grrrr, Yuriy!) I love, love, LOVE this post, Mary! Sometimes I find that my whole life can be wrapped up in just one or two moments in my life that . . . well, I wasn’t really doing much of anything but I just felt so, SO happy. The feeling that you get when you let those little thing shine through.

    (Reminds me of the song “Little Wonders” by Rob Thomas.)

  2. […] other day I was talking to my good friend Margaret about the wonderful post she’d written on her blog and how much I envied her that after eight months of starting her blog, it was still […]


Leave a Reply

