July 3, 2010

A New Beginning

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:46 PM by Margaret

*sobs* It’s over.

No, a family member didn’t die, my blueberry muffins turned out fine (thanks for asking), I didn’t break up with anybody (or get broken up with), and I am relatively healthy.

Then why so sad?

Two weeks ago, on June 22, 2010, I became an official graduate of Holy Trinity.

Which means that the following Tuesday, June 29th, was my last day ever. EVER.

“This is not the end- it is merely the beginning.”

Those are the words that everybody in my class has heard over and over again- from teachers, principals, parents, and family members. And deep down inside I know it’s true. But I just can’t get over that horrible feeling- this is the last time I’ll walk through these doors. Last time I’ll walk down this hallway. Last time I’ll open my locker, last time slamming it shut. I know it seems silly to be upset- I mean, who do you know that is dreading high school?- but I now understand the saying “You don’t know what you hvae until it’s gone.” I never realized how important Holy Trinity was to me until the realization hit home that I was never going back.

And yet, underneath the emptiness is excitement. I’ll get to belong to a brand new school community, make new friends (and enemies), and try amazing new things. And I know that when it comes time, it’ll be Holy Trinity that I’ll be cheering for in my heart. That school has made such a big impact on me in the years that I’ve been there, and publicly I would like to thank every soul in that school. You have made my elementary years great- the best of my life so far- and I hope you can carry the knowledge with you that I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

And now some words of advce:

Hang on to your past: it’s precious. But don’t let it dictate who you are. Embrace the future: it will help you become the person you were meant to be. And always carry a little piece of each in your heart: it is the lessons and experiences of both that will tell you who you are.

It may not make a whole lot of sense now, but trust me: when the time has come, you’ll understand.

Love,

Margaret

1 Comment »

  1. Iryna said,

    Wow, Margaret – that was so sentimental! What a thought-provoking post. *tears gather in eyes*

    I really like that one quotes – “Hang on to your past – it’s precious. But don’t let it dictate who you are.” It seems to me that . . . well, sometimes I get into this mood. Or I have a thought that because things are the way they are that means that they mean this. Never that. Does that make much sense? Because of my past, I have grown to understand that certain things only have one direction you can travel in, when in fact, there’s always that dirt road to the side that you can take.

    Thanks for the post!

    -Iryna


Leave a Reply

